St. Andrew’s Park is a unique location which is steeped in military history.
At the heart of the site is Hillingdon House whose history dates back to 1717. The original house was burnt down and in its place the current Grade II listed house was built in 1844. In World War 1 it became a military hospital and by the end of the war a Royal Air Force Station had been set up in the grounds.
In World War II, the site, known as RAF Uxbridge played a crucial role in the pivotal Battle of Britain. The bunker built on the site was the home of Fighter Command No. 11 Group from 1939. The operations of the successful air battle were directed from the bunker. It remained operational until 1958.
Hillingdon House continued as a central part of RAF Uxbridge until the station was eventually closed by the MOD in 2010.
The Bunker remains as a museum and an important visitor centre. To find out more follow this link.